Accreditation

New Brunswick Extra-Mural Program (EMP) earns Accreditation Canada’s highest ranking

EM/ANB Inc. continues to be accredited with Exemplary Standing under Accreditation Canada after its recent on-site survey of the New Brunswick’s Extra-Mural Program (EMP) previous Horizon sites. This is the highest ranking conferred by Accreditation Canada.

This significant achievement comes after the peer reviewers from Accreditation Canada visited EMP sites to share their expertise, evaluate the extent to which the organization is meeting national standards of excellence, and make recommendations. The evaluation focused on home care services, infection prevention and control and medication management.

The evaluators’ decision was to accord EMP Accredited with Exemplary Standing.

“This award is a testament to all our staff and the work we do in our communities,” said Ginette Pellerin, Vice President, EMP Operations. “That certainly fits into our philosophy of being innovative to provide the care New Brunswickers deserve in the place they want it. To achieve this in less than a year of operation is remarkable and speaks to the quality, professionalism and empathy of our outstanding staff.”

EMP, as an organization, continually evolves and makes changes based on the ongoing development of best practices. “Participating in the Accreditation Canada process allows EMP to continually evaluate how it does its work,” said Jean Bustard, Vice President, Quality, Patient Safety and Education.

“The on-site survey provides a means of identifying gaps and create a plan to address them, thus ensuring that patients are safe in our care. Being accredited is a significant achievement, and we’re fully engaged in what the accreditation process offers – the opportunity to continually improve the delivery of safe, quality care,” said Bustard.

Among the overall observations, the evaluators made particular note of the following strengths:

  • Highly trained and committed staff
  • A cohesive interdisciplinary team that surveyors suggested could be used as an example across the country
  • Established relationships with client and communities
  • Leadership committed to leading the organization through its transition as a separate corporate entity
  • A patient-centered model of care that responds to patient needs as defined by the patients themselves. The surveyors noted every level of staff interviewed indicated that they were committed to “doing with as opposed to doing for”.

“Once again, we want to acknowledge and thank you all for the great work you do for our organization,” said Pellerin. “You do it every day. The recent accreditation is simply a recognition of those efforts.”

About Accreditation Canada:

Accreditation Canada is a not-for-profit organization that works closely with health services organizations to help them develop a sustainable culture of improvement that betters safety and efficiency for patients and families.

For more information on Accreditation Canada, visit their website.

Emp Accreditation Eng Resize
Ginette Pellerin, VP, EMP, and Jean Bustard, VP, Quality, Patient Safety and Education, MHSNB

Report Thumbnails Small

Our Accreditation Report

Exec Summary Thumbnails Small

Executive Summary

Agrément

Le Programme extra-mural du Nouveau-Brunswick (PEM) se voit décerner la plus haute désignation d’Agrément Canada

EM/ANB inc. demeure agréée avec mention d’honneur auprès d’Agrément Canada par suite de sa visite récente des anciens sites d’Horizon pour évaluer les activités du Programme extra-mural (PEM) du Nouveau-Brunswick. Il s’agit de la plus haute désignation accordée par Agrément Canada. 

Cette réalisation importante résulte de la visite des sites du PEM par des pairs externes d’Agrément Canada pour partager leur expertise, évaluer dans quelle mesure l’organisme respecte les normes d’excellence nationales et formuler des recommandations. L’évaluation était axée sur les services de soins à domicile, la prévention et le contrôle des infections et la gestion des médicaments. 

Les évaluateurs ont décidé d’accorder la désignation « agréé avec mention d’honneur » au PEM. 

« Cette désignation est un signe de reconnaissance de l’ensemble de notre personnel et du travail que nous accomplissons dans les collectivités », affirme Ginette Pellerin, vice-présidente, Opérations du PEM. « Cela s’inscrit certainement dans notre philosophie d’innover pour offrir à la population du Nouveau‑Brunswick les soins qu’ils méritent, à l’endroit qu’ils préfèrent. Réaliser cet objectif en moins d’un an est remarquable et témoigne de la qualité, du professionnalisme et de l’empathie de notre personnel exceptionnel. » 

En tant qu’organisme, le PEM est en constante évolution et effectue des changements en fonction du développement continu des pratiques exemplaires. « Participer au processus d’Agrément Canada permet au PEM d’évaluer continuellement sa façon de faire les choses », dit Jean Bustard, vice‑présidente, Qualité, sécurité des patients et formation. 

« La visite d’agrément permet de cibler les lacunes, de manière à créer un plan pour les combler et ainsi assurer la sécurité des patients auxquels nous prodiguons des soins. L’agrément s’avère une réussite considérable, et nous sommes pleinement investis dans ce que le processus d’agrément procure, soit la possibilité de constamment améliorer la prestation de soins sécuritaires et de qualité », explique Mme Bustard. 

Parmi leurs observations générales, les évaluateurs ont noté les points forts suivants :

  • Un personnel hautement qualifié et dévoué;
  • Une équipe multidisciplinaire unie qui, à leur avis, pourrait servir d’exemple à l’échelle du Canada;
  • Des liens avec les clients et les collectivités;
  • Une équipe de direction engagée à guider l’organisme lors de sa transition en tant que société distincte;
  • Le PEM doit être félicité pour sa pratique privilégiée de fournir des services qui répondent aux besoins du patient, tels que définis par le patient lui-même. Le personnel interviewé à tous les échelons a indiqué être engagé à « travailler avec le patient plutôt que pour le patient ». 

« Encore une fois, nous tenons à souligner l’excellent travail que vous faites chaque jour pour notre organisme et vous en remercier », ajoute Mme Pellerin. « Aujourd’hui, nous sommes tout simplement reconnus pour ces efforts. »

 

Au sujet d’Agrément Canada

Agrément Canada est un organisme sans but lucratif qui travaille étroitement avec des organismes de soins de santé pour les aider à développer une culture d’amélioration durable pour optimiser la sécurité et l’efficience pour les patients et leur famille.

Pour plus d'information sur Agrément Canada, consultez leur site Web.

Emp Accreditation Eng Resize
Ginette Pellerin, Vice-présidente, PEM, et Jean Bustard, Vice-présidente, Qualité, sécurité des patients et formation, SSMNB

Report Thumbnails Small

Notre Rapport d’agrément

Exec Summary Thumbnails Small

Sommaire